Where is North East Japan?


Where is North East Japan?

The Tōhoku region (東北地方, Tōhoku-chihō), Northeast region, or Northeast Japan (東北日本, Tōhoku-nihon) consists of the northeastern portion of Honshu, the largest island of Japan. This traditional region consists of six prefectures (ken): Akita, Aomori, Fukushima, Iwate, Miyagi, and Yamagata.

What is Tohoku region known for?

The Tohoku Region (東北地方, Tōhoku Chihō, literally “North East Region”) consists of six prefectures in the north of Japan’s largest island, Honshu. It is well known for its countryside, mountains, lakes, hot springs, high quality rice and rough winters.

Is Tohoku in Tokyo?

Mini Guide to Exploring Tohoku from Tokyo. The northeastern part of Japan’s main island (Honshu) is a mind-blowing place. Comprising six prefectures—Miyagi, Fukushima, Aomori, Akita, Iwate and Yamagata—the Tohoku region is where you go for remote beauty and wild outdoor experiences, not to mention good traditional grub …

What is the climate of northeastern part of Japan?

Eastern Japan has hot and humid summers and cold winters with very heavy snow on the Sea of Japan side and in mountainous areas. Western Japan has very hot and humid summers (with temperatures sometimes reaching 35 oC or above) and moderate cold winters. Okinawa and Amami have a subtropical oceanic climate.

What is considered northern Japan?

Northern Japan, collectively known as the Tohoku region, connects Tokyo in the south-east with the island of Hokkaido in the north. The area itself is coated in forest and mountain with most of the population concentrated within the lowlands.

Is Tohoku a prefecture?

The Tohoku Region is located in the northeast part of Honshu, the main island of Japan. It comprises the six prefectures Aomori Prefecture, Iwate Prefecture, Miyagi Prefecture, Akita Prefecture, Yamagata Prefecture, and Fukushima Prefecture, which collectively account for about 30% of Honshu’s surface area.