What does Webelos mean in Cub Scouts?


What does Webelos mean in Cub Scouts?

We’ll Be Loyal Scouts
“Webelos” stands for “We’ll Be Loyal Scouts.” As Webelos near the end of the Cub Scout trail, it’s time for them to embrace that pledge and prepare for the next leg of the journey: Scouts BSA.

What comes first Webelos or Cub Scouts?

Cub Scouts who join a pack are assigned to dens with ideally six to eight members, usually based on age: Lion Scouts (kindergarten), Tiger Scouts (first grade), Wolf Scouts (second grade), Bear Scouts (third grade), and Webelos Scouts (fourth and fifth grades).

What it means to be a webelo?

Definition of webelos : a cub scout of the fifth rank who is at least 10¹/₂ years old and is preparing for entrance into boy scouting.

What does a webelo look like?

Unlike other Cub Scout diamond-shaped rank badges, the Webelos badge is an oval, similar to Scouts BSA rank badges. Webelos also wear tan uniforms instead of the blue ones that younger Cubs wear. But all Cub Scouts must earn the Bobcat badge before earning any other rank.

What is the Webelos symbol?

The Webelos badge is like the emblem on the Webelos cap, except that it also has the word ‘Webelos’ and the Scout badge. The emblem is made up of a gold Scout badge with a blue ‘W,’ for Webelos, on it. It shows that you are moving from Cub Scouting to Boy Scouting.

Where do you put Webelos pins?

Webelos pins are worn on an item called Webelos Colors on the right sleeve of the tan uniform shirt or they may be placed on the Webelos hat.

What do Webelos do?

Parents and den leaders play a new, more supportive, and less directive role with Webelos. The major goal of Webelos/AOL is to give the Scouts a taste of what it is like to be a Boy Scout and to get them used to how Boy Scouting is structured. They learn that it is their responsibility to earn their adventures.

What do the Webelos colors stand for?

Webelos colors – The three badge colors represent the three programs in the BSA: Cub Scouting (the yellow/gold), Boy/Varsity Scouting (the red) and “Senior Scouting” (used to be Exploring and now Venturing, the green).