What are the four direct controlled municipalities in China?


What are the four direct controlled municipalities in China?

Direct-administered municipalities of China

Municipality 直辖市 Zhíxiáshì
Category Unitary state
Location China
Number 4 (Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai, Tianjin)
Populations 21,893,095 (Beijing) 32,054,159 (Chongqing) 24,870,895 (Shanghai) 13,866,009 (Tianjin)

What are the municipalities directly under the Central Government of China?

Municipalities directly under the Central Government and large cities are subdivided into districts and counties; autonomous prefectures are subdivided into counties, autonomous counties and cities. Autonomous regions, autonomous prefectures and autonomous counties are all ethnic autonomous areas.

What are the 4 municipalities in China?

A municipality has the same political, economical and jurisdictional rights as a province. China has 4 municipalities: Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai and Tianjin.

How many municipalities regions does China have?

4 municipalities
Administratively, China16 is divided into 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions (Inner Mongolia, Guangxi, Tibet, Ningxia, Xinjiang), 4 municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing) and 2 Special Administrative Regions (Hong Kong, Macao).

Why is Chongqing a municipality?

Chongqing city was under the administration of Sichuan province from 1954, but in 1997 it was separated from the province and designated a provincial-level municipality under the direct administration of the central government, the fourth one (after Beijing, Shanghai, and Tianjin) to be established.

What are the 5 regions of China?

China has 5 autonomous regions: Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Tibet (Xizang) and Xinjiang. This web site is created by InfoPacific Development Inc.

Is Shanghai a municipality?

Shanghai, also spelled Shang-hai, city and province-level shi (municipality), east-central China. It is one of the world’s largest seaports and a major industrial and commercial centre of China. Skyline of Shanghai, China.

What are the two administrative regions of China and explain each?

Two important SARs are Hong Kong and Macau (also spelled Macao), a pair of relatively autonomous regions within the People’s Republic of China that maintain separate legal, administrative, and judicial systems from the rest of the country.

How many provinces does China have in total?

The People’s Republic of China has 31 provinces, municipalities, and autonomous regions. Provinces: Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, and Zhejiang.