What are some interesting facts about the Melbourne Cup?


What are some interesting facts about the Melbourne Cup?

Melbourne Cup Fun Facts

  • The first Melbourne Cup was run in 1861, and was won by a horse called Archer.
  • Michelle Payne was the first female jockey to win the Melbourne Cup which happened in 2015 .
  • Makybe Diva is the only horse to win the Melbourne Cup three years in a row!

What is the smallest field to ever run the Melbourne Cup?

1862 – archer became the first horse to win the race twice. 1863 – The smallest ever Melbourne Cup field of only seven runners contested the race after several horses were scratched in sympathy with Etienne de Mestre’s champion Archer being ruled out of the race on a technicality.

What popular phrase is used to describe Melbourne Cup?

The race that stops a nation
Melbourne Cup Quiz

Questions Answers Answer All
13. What popular phrase is used to describe the Melbourne Cup? Answer “The race that stops a nation”
14. In which year did the Melbourne Cup become the first race in Australia to offer prize money of $1 million, which was won by What A Nuisance? Answer 1985

What is the oldest horse to win the Melbourne Cup?

* The oldest horses to win the race were the eight-year-olds Toryboy (1865), Catalogue (1938) and Twilight Payment (2020). * The last three-year-old to win was Skipton (1941). Technically the 2018 winner Cross Counter and 2017 winner Rekindling were three but considered four in the southern hemisphere.

What was the number of the horse that won Melbourne Cup?

Incentivise was game in running second but was simply no match for the Waller-trained mare who raced clear over the concluding stages to score her 10th Group One win and hand J-Mac his first ever Melbourne Cup win….2021 Melbourne Cup Winners.

Result Last
No. 8
Horse Ocean Billy
Jockey Damien Thornton
Trainer Chris Waller

Which barrier has won the most Melbourne Cups?

Most successful Melbourne Cup barriers

Barrier Wins
Barrier 5 8
Barrier 10 7
Barrier 14 7
Barrier 11 6

How many females have raced in the Melbourne Cup?

Only sixteen females have won the Cup, with mares accounting for thirteen of these victories. Of the 13 wins by mares, three belong to Makybe Diva, who was also the last female to win the Cup (2005).