How do you get to Tuamotu Island?


How do you get to Tuamotu Island?

Getting there Air Tahiti has regular service to the Tuamotus from the Fa’a’ā International Airport in Papeete. The most frequent direct flights travel from Tahiti to Rangiroa; you can also fly to both Rangiroa and Tikehau directly from Bora Bora.

Where are the Tuamotu islands?

French Polynesia
Tuamotu Archipelago, French Îles Tuamotu, also called Paumotu, island group of French Polynesia, central South Pacific Ocean. The archipelago comprises 75 atolls, one raised coral atoll (Makatea), and innumerable coral reefs, roughly dispersed northwest-southeast as a double chain for more than 900 miles (1,450 km).

How many islands are in the Tuamotu Archipelago?

The Tuamotus have approximately 16,000 inhabitants….Tuamotus.

Native name: Îles Tuamotu (French) / Tuamotus (Tuamotuan) / Paumotus (Tahitian)
Archipelago Polynesia
Total islands 78
Major islands Rangiroa, Anaa, Fakarava, Hao, Makemo
Area 850 km2 (330 sq mi)

Is Fiji or Bora Bora better?

When it comes to cost and other worldly scuba diving, Fiji is the most effective choice. However, if you want overwater bungalows and adventure on the island, Bora Bora is a great choice.

Is Tahiti a poor country?

The data is based on a 2015 survey on expenditure in Tahiti and Moorea. 55 percent of people in French Polynesia’s most populous islands are earning less than $US1,150 a month while in France 16 percent are below the poverty mark. A quarter of the population in Tahiti receives no more than $US600 a month.

What is Society Islands known for?

They have a population of 275,918 inhabitants (as of 2017). They cover a land area of 1,590 square kilometres (610 sq mi). The Society Islands are a tropical South Sea archipelago of volcanic origin. They represent the most economically important of the five archipelagos of French Polynesia.

Where are the Tuamotu Islands?

The Tuamotus combine with the Gambier Islands to form the Îles Tuamotu-Gambier which is one of the five administrative divisions of French Polynesia . The Tuamotus are grouped into sixteen communes: Anaa; Arutua; Fakarava; Fangatau; Hao; Hikueru; Makemo; Manihi; Napuka; Nukutavake; Puka Puka; Rangiroa; Reao; Takaroa; Tatakoto; and Tureia .

What does Fangatau stand for?

Fangatau, or Nakai-erua, is a small atoll in the Tuamotu group in French Polynesia. The nearest land is Fakahina Atoll, located 72 km to the ESE.

Why is Tahiti called Tuamotus?

The people of Tahiti originally called the islands the Paumotus, an exonym that means “the subservient islands” – and other outsiders tended to use this name as well, until a delegation from the islands convinced the French authorities to change their name to Tuamotus, which means the “distant islands”.

How many people live in the Tuamotus?

Of these, 769 inhabitants live in a 215- nautical-mile (400 km; 250 mi) radius around Mururoa and Fangataufa, the sites of former French nuclear tests. The common language spoken in the Tuamotus is Tuamotuan, except in Puka-Puka which uses the Marquesan language. The Gambier Islands use Mangarevan .